Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

La Cartuja in Seville to host 2024 Copa del Rey Final

La Cartuja in Seville will host this year's  Copa del Rey final for the fifth consecutive year on April 6th when Athletic Bilbao take on Real Mallorca.

The stadium is the fifth biggest in Spain, behind the Camp Nou, Santiago Bernabéu, the Metropolitano in Madrid, and the Benito Villamarín. La Cartuja has a capacity of 57,619.

Previous finals at La Cartuja

When La Cartuja was known as Estadio Olimpico, the stadium hosted the Copa del Rey finals in 1999 and 2001. Valencia beat Atletico Madrid 3-0 in 1999, while Zaragoza beat Celta Vigo 3-1 in 2001.

On February 5, 2020, La Cartuja was selected as the venue for the next four Copa Del Rey finals. This agreement has now been extended to 2025, meaning the venue will have hosted six consecutive finals by the end of next season.

The first two finals at La Cartuja since the agreement in 2020 and 2021 were held behind closed doors due to the COVID pandemic. Real Sociedad and Barcelona won in 2020 and 2021, respectively. Real Betis beat Valencia on penalties in 2022, while Real Madrid won the competition last season as they beat Osasuna 2-1 in front of 55,579 fans.

Athletic Bilbao will be looking to make it third time lucky at La Cartuja this year as they face Mallorca in the final on April 6, 2024.

Spain matches

Since the inaugural football match on May 5, 1999, Spain have played 12 matches at La Cartuja. This includes all three group stage matches of Spain’s UEFA Euro 2020 campaign. The Round of 16 match between Belgium and Portugal was also hosted at the stadium. Most recently, Spain beat Scotland 2-0 in a UEFA Euro 2024 qualifier in front of 45,623 fans.

The 2024 UEFA Women’s Nations League Finals were also held at the Seville-based stadium. Spain beat the Netherlands and France to lift the trophy on home soil.

Other sporting events at La Cartuja

The stadium was officially opened on May 5, 1999, in time for the World Championships in Athletics. From August 20 to August 29, La Cartuja was the main venue for various track and field events for the best athletes in the world.

La Cartuja was then used as one of the stadiums included in Seville’s bids for the 2004 and 2008 Summer Olympics. However, both of these bids were unsuccessful.

On two occasions, The Royal Spanish Tennis Federation has chosen La Cartuja as the host stadium for the Davis Cup. In 2004 and 2011, Spain won the competition on home soil, beating the United States and Argentina, respectively.

How to get to the stadium

La Cartuja is located in the north-west region of Sevilla and is just over three kilometres away from the city centre. From the centre, it is around a 40-minute walk to the ground.

You can also take trains from the main Santa Justa station. Line C2, stopping at Estadio Olimpico station, leaves a 15-minute walk for supporters.

Ownership of the stadium

The ownership of La Cartuja is split into the following percentages:

  • Regional Government of Andalusia (40%)
  • Spanish Government (25%)
  • Seville City Council (19%)
  • Seville Congress of Deputies (13%)
  • Real Betis (1.5%)
  • Sevilla FC (1.5%)

Will Murray

Freelance football journalist. Experience writing for When Saturday, Comes,, Elite Scholars and Total Football Analysis. Recently finished an MA in Sport Journalism at the University of Brighton. Long-time season ticket holder at the two-time European Champions Nottingham Forest.

Articles: 181